Oath Keepers


Wandering around the net, I came across this spot, via that old river rat, Riverdog.

The individual in charge of “Oath Keepers” seems to be credentialed enough, both in the legal arena, and militarily speaking.  And his passion toward both his (the) oath many of us have sworn to, and the Constitution, is much in evidence on his site.  Well worth checking out.

As for me, I have stated here and elsewhere how I feel regarding the oath I took (many times).  And those who I have had the pleasure of talking with either in person or on the phone, and those who have read my past scribblings are also aware of my feelings toward the Constitution.   I am giving it a bit of time, to read up on more of the information at Oath Keepers, before I “sign on the line” so to speak, but expect it will happen in the not too distant future.  Hell, why not be on another list somewhere, I am sure I am on any number of them now, just being a vet makes me, automatically, an “Evil Right-wing Extremist  ™  “.

CigarGuyJay wrote:
I feel the same as you Guy, we’ve discussed this before, and anyone who reads this that doesn’t know me, allow me a second to elaborate. I took my initial oath in 1977
again in 1981
again in 1985
again in 1989
once again in 1993
AGAIN in 1997
and for the last time in 2001, as part of my last extension in the USAF.
26 years, 2 months and 14 days, many of that in Special Ops at Hurlburt Field and Air Combat Command. So, those of you that feel obliged to remind me of my oath, stop it, I probably did it more times than most of us. But, like Guy, I need to research this “organization” a little more before I commit to it.

And I WILL defend the Constitution of the United States, against all enemies, foreign and domestic, so help me God. If you don’t think so, try this retired Master Sergeant!
19/06 18:43:22

Guy S wrote:
Sheesh, now you got me thinking (that’s gonna cost ya *grin*)…

April 1973
Aug 1973
Sept 1977
Aug 1981
Nov 1984
Apr 1985
Mar 1989
Jun 1991
And I believe I did same upon entering the “Fleet Reserve” as that was an inactive reserve status of sorts, but don’t remember.

Still, after the first one, all the others were just reaffirming what was already clearly understood and unconditionally accepted on my part. And no, my retirement did not void my allegiance to my country, my brothers in arms, my countrymen, or the Constitution which bind us all together.
19/06 23:30:01

LC Aggie Sith wrote:
Though I am a military wife, I too, have taken the oath, alongside Hubby.

And our kids are learning the meaning of keeping it 😉
20/06 07:01:09

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

