Chocovine Raspberry


Some folks were initially skeptical when this companyintroduced their chocolatey goodness to the adult beverage consuming public. And to be honest, I was a little skeptical when I picked up a bottle and brought it home. It really was not all that bad. And for the price (a tad under ten bucks), it was well worth giving it a try.

Well, let’s fast forward to tonight. Lo and behold, the folks at Chocovine have a new concoction!

thick and creamy goodness!

Drinking it right now, even as I typo. And it is as good or even a bit better than their original offering. It is thick and creamy. There is a strong presence of chocolate (of course!) but the addition of raspberry, gives it a sweet little tang, which, after the sip has left the tongue, the mingling of all three major players, works out quite nicely, in the after tastes. That bit of memory left on the palet, and olfactory areas.

Give it a try, I don’t think you should expect too much from this, but as an after dinner (specifically with or after desert) wine, it’s interesting and fun. A nice item to share with friends, or with ones significant other after a hard day (yours, theirs, or both).

12 Comments

Filed under Harbor Life, Scribbles

12 responses to “Chocovine Raspberry

  1. At first I shuddered…then I remembered this is my favorite combination with chocolate and fruit.

    Maybe I’ll give it a try. MAYBE!!!

    • I think you might enjoy this. We parted with the bottle after one and one half glasses each (damn small bottles!!!). Would have been happy with another glass or two. Reminds me, a bit, of a Brandy Alexander, YMMV.

  2. Might have to give it a shot one of these times.

    If you like beer, stop by my place and take a gander at the new ale I posted a review on.

    Well worth your time to try one, if you enjoy a good ale.

    • Took a look at the Ale at your site … YUM!!! Might have to take a look in the big city liquor stores next time we head out there. Being my wife is somewhat intolerant of all things having wheat (or malt or barley), we picked up a six pack of gluten free beer. Will have to do a review of it after trying same.

      Thanks for dropping by!

  3. Gluten-free beer??

    What they can do these days…

  4. Assuming it is made with some sort of “gluten free” grain (corn, rice, etc) then it is possible to make some sort of beverage which at the very least “mimics” beer. As Deb has shown signs of an intollerance to wheat based products (bread in particular) we are actively investigating gluten free products.

    • I have seen a number of beers at my local liquor store that herald themselves as “gluten-free”, but I have yet to try one.

      One reason is that several of them also heralded themselves as being “green beers”, as in totally environmentally friendly. My experience with other, non-liquor, items that are supposedly environmentally friendly is that they are damned near useless at the function they are supposed to perform.

      Case in point: my wife got excited about this dishwasher detergent that was a “green” detergent, and so she bought it once instead of our usual product. I would have had better results spitting at the dishes to get them clean.

      I’m not a fearful person, but I have no interest in trying out a “green” beer.

      • Deb S.

        haha I have been known to try out a “green detergent” or two. I’ve found one brand that performs well on the laundry so I just stick with it, when I can find it. Plus it has a wonderful real lavender smell. (Ecos, in case your wife is wondering. They have other scents, but I love the lavender.)

        I’d never heard of “green beer”. lol I’ll have to look into that. 😀 But, gluten seems to make me ill (not to mention living beings that might walk behind me after eating gluten). Redbridge isn’t bad, but if I didn’t have to watch what was going into my tummy, I wouldn’t revisit it, myself. 😉

  5. We actually had some pretty good luck with an “environmentally friendly” laundry detergent. It was called “ECCOS” (in this case the lavender version). Cost a bit more, but did about 20-30 more loads per bottle than the regular detergent did, so the cost evened out.

    Haven’t tried one of the gluten free beers, may do so tonight.

  6. I’m holding out for Circus Peanut flavored wine.

  7. Pingback: “Be careful in what you wish, for it may just come true” « Snugg Harbor

Leave a Reply

